Get ready with me (for work): Skin care routine

This is my first review & “Get ready with me” post. I have recently changed my skin care routine so this seemed to be the best moment to do both of them.

As a flight attendant it is important to take a lot of care of your skin as our skin has to deal with constant environmental changes.

My skin type is oily and I am battling acne since the age of 13. I have to admit that my skin has improved a lot over  the years. But due to hormonal changes, once a month my breakouts are really heavy, especially on my chin. I have tried sooooo many products from drugstore brands like Clearasil and Nivea, to pharmacy products like Bioderma, Eucerin, La Roche-Posay , Vichy and more.. but sadly nothing satisfies my needs.

17379834_1447502705306106_1982458591_o
My skin without makeup after cleansing

A friend of me recommended me to use the products from Clinique. As she struggled with acne as well and this helped her a lot to combat her skin issue. That been said, she really made me curious to try out these products. So, I went to the store and decided to take action (again).

I came back home with two bags around my arm and a big smile. Oh it feels so good to treat yourself once in a while!


Below you can find my skin care routine I use every day:

STEP 1: Cleansing 

Every morning and evening I cleanse my skin to start the day fresh-faced and go to bed without makeup so my skin can breathe again.

Evening: With a cotton pad I apply Sébium H2O from Bioderma to remove most of my makeup. This is a micellar water for the combination to oily or blemished skin to remove makeup. If necessary, I use the 3 in 1 Waterproof Makeup Remover – Daily Essentials from Nivea that gently removes waterproof mascara, makeup and long-lasting lipstick.

Evening + morning: Then I use the Clinque Acne Solutions Cleansing Foam to help clear my face and prevent acne by removing dirt and excess oil and unclogs the pores. I apply this by using the Clinique Sonic System Acne Solutions Deep Cleansing Brush with specialized bristles to deep clean the skin with prone to breakouts, unlogs pores, and makes the skin look fresh and healthy. The bristles consists of a light blue part and a darker blue part with each their intensity for the different zones on your face.

STEP 2: Exfoliating 

Evening + morning: After cleaning my face, I use the Acne Solutions Clarifying Lotion from Clinique by applying it to my face with a new cotton pad in order to exfoliate and reduce excess oil. It also unclogs pores and controls the shine on my skin.

clq_6K0G01_402x464-2

STEP 3: Moisturizing 

Evening + morning: The Acne Solutions All Over Clearing Treatment from Clinique helps to treat existing acne and prevent future breakouts. It helps to control excess oil, calms, soothes, and visible reduces redness and lightly hydrates to minimize dryness and peeling.

clq_6KNA01_402x464Morning: In Addition I use the Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20 from Clinique, as the air in the cabin really dries out your skin. It hydrates all day long and has antioxidants and an UVA/UVB protection.

1858750_fpx.tif

Evening: Before going to bed, I apply the Overnight Revitalizing Moisturizer from Clinique to reveal a more luminous skin in the morning. The energy infused skin needs to optimize nighttime renewal. It gently clears the dulling effects of time and sun damage + it nourishes with moisture.Clinique_Turnaround_Overnight_Revitalizing_Moisturizer_50ml_1424444861.png


Showering 

To wash my body I use the Di Palomo White Grape with Aloe Bath and Shower Cream, which is a rich bath and shower cream. The scent is amazing! Fresh notes of spring of white grape jasmine and pear with notes of musk and amber.

223.jpg

To moisturize my skin, I use the Nivea in-shower nourishing body lotion for very dry skin with almond oil. It moisturizes instantly with no sticky feel and leaves the skin feeling soft and smooth for more than 24hr. A

After showering I end with a layer of one of the Vaseline Intensive Care Lotions to moisturize and heal my skin even more. The bottles have also a spray version which I like very much!


Products I use once in a while:

The City Block Purifying Charcoal Clay Mask + Scrub from Clinique.  This mask purifies and polishes the skin for a deep-clean treatment. Ingredients such as: natural bamboo, charcoal and kaolin clay remove pollution and impurities, while silica beads gently refine texture. clq_ZMXT01_402x464


After one week my skin feels soft, clean, most and healthy. Even my acne is gone! The products of Clinique are a bit pricey but I definitely do not regret my purchase at all! I have to underline that every skin is different, and that my results may not be the same as yours. But relying on my experiences, I really recommend these products!

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-04 om 20.55.38

I hope you like my first review/ Get Ready With Me post! Please do not hesitate to let me know in the comments what you think of it!

A.

Leave a Reply

